The Classical Period: Mozart and Haydn

William Prinzing Briggs, music director of the Central Kentucky Youth Orchestras, discusses the Classical period in music, including the qualities of balance and structure; the importance of melody; theme and variations; the string quartet; the four movements of a classical symphony; and the solo concerto form. A string quartet from the youth orchestras performs excerpts from Haydn’s Divertimento in C for String Quartet, Mozart’s String Quartet in C, and Haydn’s Theme and Variations on “God Save Francis the Emperor.”

Classroom activities and discussion questions available on PBS LearningMedia.

Visit PBS LearningMedia Resource

See more resources for:


See more resources about:

K-12The Arts